Rant/Motivation Post

Standard

I don’t think many of my followers know this and I feel the need to explain: I’m the kind of person that gets frustrated with something that challenges them and then works hard to overcome it. If I ever rant about something difficult, it’s me kinda showing my motivation to work on it more. XD Does it make any sense? No? Yes? Keep reading either way.

I’m self-studying Korean and for Japanese I’m self-studying (s-s? Can I abbreviate it? Nah. Looks weird.) at the moment and I take classes when I’m in college. I’ve had more exposure to the Japanese language (listened to songs in Japanese at a young age and tried to sing what I heard/watched anime with and w/o subtitles as I tried to piece words together.) which is probably why it’s easier for me to pick it up, but compared to Korean it is much more difficult in terms of grammar and writing. Regardless of me acknowledging this difficulty, I keep running into the same problem: I can’t pronounce Korean to save my life.

Maybe I just sound okay speaking Korean and I’m being critical of myself, but oh my grapes and vines and wine glasses… Feeling comfortable with speaking Korean is going to be a long and hard journey for me.

Which has lead me to this post. :D

I feel really motivated to practice my reading and speaking, so I’m planning on devoting a lot of time to that. Recently I’ve been working on grammar and vocabulary, but pronunciation is kicking me in the kneecap and it hurts! I need my kneecap! I’m a dancer! ;-;

If you’re wondering where the sudden rage came from, it was because I was listening to Daehyun in an interview and he said, “…내 가슴에 불을 지펴봐” and I was trying to listen closely to how he said 불 because the difference between ㅂ/ㅍ and ㅈ/ㅊ gets me every time. I get the double consonants, but these suckers right here. Sometimes  ㅂ sounds aspirated like ㅍ. Same for ㅈ/ㅊ. One day I’ll get it. ONE. DAY. I’m watching you 자모… I’m watching you… Well, more like trying to pronounce, but you get what I mean.

2 responses »

  1. It definitely gets easier with time, but for me at least, the issue doesn’t ever disappear entirely. I still find myself watching variety shows, then writing down words to look up later only to discover that I can’t find them in the dictionary because I messed up the the ㅈ/ㅊ distinction.

Leave a Reply

